Yes, A Starship Scale Comparison is a Good Idea

Screen Shot 2013-09-29 at 6.57.52 AM

You know that guy’s spaceship scale chart that everyone’s linking to this week? It’s causing me stress, and I can’t take it any more.

I just posted a comment on Smithsonian Magazine’s blog. it’s the sixth time this week that I’ve posted basically the same thing. I did the exact same thing about five years ago in response to *another* artists “original” idea to make a scale chart for spaceships. I figure I’ll be doing it again in a few years:

“While Mr. Loechel’s poster does a great job of putting everything together, I feel compelled to direct you to Jeff Russell’s Starship Dimensions site: http://www.merzo.net/

The Starship Dimensions site has been around since at least 2002, and over the years, many artists, like Mr. Loechel, have taken the information (and often the artwork) from Starship Dimensions and reconfigured it into works of their own. Unfortunately, it is almost always done without attribution.

I don’t know Jeff Russell, but I’ve been a fan of his site since a friend who worked with me at ILM pointed me to it”

I’m not asking for journalism, I’m just asking for people to say to themselves “Wow, that’s a great idea, I wonder if anyone else has thought to do that?” and then do the freaking Google search!
</rant>

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

