Things I Want to See on my iPad Some Day

My Future iPadHaving a bigger screen to cart around the house to watch movies and TV shows on is reason enough for me to want an iPad, but I’ve been daydreaming about some other things I’d love to use it for. And yes, I loved my Newton and I’m glad it’s back.

  • Diablo 3 – How perfect is a touch screen for Diablo? I can imagine sitting on the couch with Beca tapping and killing together like we used to on iBooks.
  • Words With Friends – An iPhone app that wants to be on a bigger screen.
  • OmniGraffle -The iPad will have to do until Apple makes a whiteboard-sized iBoard.
  • Keynote – I use Keynote every day and would love to have a platform to use it in small group meetings of 3-6 people around a table without a projector.
  • Homeworld 2 – Gesture-based starship control and navigation! Moving around using the mouse was always the hardest part of this game.
  • Starwalk – Astonomy guides on a big screen that everyone on your camping trip can see at the same time!
  • Remote for the AppleTV – Giant icons!
  • The Ultimate D&D Accessory – Hinge three together to make a DM screen!
  • Full Throttle – An even better platform for classic LucasArts adventure games! “I’m not puttin’ my mouth on that.”
  • Broderbund Living Books – I remember when my friend and neighbor (hey RC!) was animating these using Macromind Director in Santa Cruz in the 1990s. They would be perfect for the iPad!

This entry was posted in Tech, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things I Want to See on my iPad Some Day

  1. Seeing on your ipad is a first-rate idea

  2. Britt says:

    Tad I remember your Newton, it's what spurred me to get my Ipaq (funny how all those years ago, Compaq named something that just sounded so Apple…). I have already reserved my iPad and honestly think I need one badly. Especially if it will run all my iPhone apps, like the DSLR Camera Remote app, which works so-so on the small iPhone, but should be great on the larger iPad. Then again, if I just get a version of iCal that I can see without putting on my glasses, that it will be all worth it…

  3. Colum says:

    Tad, Keynote is in there..part of the iWorks suite.

  4. Britt says:

    Tad,I have had my iPad for a day now, and for the most part it's great… However, and it's a big however, the Safari app has trouble recognizing many text boxes as such. For instance, I can't write this comment on my iPad, nor can I blog on my Vox account. The iPad sees the Vox text boxes as a graphic, and the keyboard does not pop up. Other areas I have had problems are free Wi-Fi hotspots (such as McDonald's) that require you to check off a Terms agreement box to use the service, the iPad does not see the check box, hence you can't access the Wi-Fi. This is going to be a real bummer if, when I am traveling, I can't get Wi-Fi in the airport or my hotel, because I can't agree to the Terms, because the iPad does not see the box. Hmmm, maybe I should have waited for the 3g model. Other than that so far, it's everything I wanted, and my god the screen is amazing. Thanks for turning me on to handbrake, it's going to get a lot of use now…

Leave a Reply

