8 km (5 mile) Walk Today

So, I up and went for a long walk today. Been feeling especially out of shape lately, so I set out to walk toward Orchard Road with the intention of catching the MRT back from Newton if I got too hot and tired.

But I kept going, all the way to Takashimaya. It took about 50 minutes to get there and I listened to Ira Glass Interview Joss Whedon on the way. A quick buzz through Kinokuniya (didn't buy anything!) and then downstairs to grab some fake bacon at Cold Storage, and then home.

I am absolutely a destination-focused walker. Treadmills do not do it for me at all. Singapore is big on treadmills (in air conditioned glass rooms).

I hesitated for just a moment at the Orchard MRT station, and ended up walking past it and all the way home!

I was super-sweaty and exhausted when I got home, but I feel great! I can tell, however, that my legs will be really achy tomorrow.

Now, the hard part is figuring out how to keep it up during the week. I may start by getting off at the Orchard or Newton MRT stations on the way home rather than at Novina. Of course, that would require leaving work at a reasonable hour…which I should be doing anyway. Maybe a swim in the morning before work and a walk from Newton in the evening.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 8 km (5 mile) Walk Today

  1. lori says:

    Wow, Tad! I can't tell what I'm more impressed by — your long trek, or your going to Kinokuniya and not buying anything. You are clearly made of sterner stuff than I, in both respects.

  2. Enola says:

    Yay awesome! Did you get to see things you'd never seen before? That is my favorite thing about going for long walks through my town…

Leave a Reply

