Leckmans on the Move…Again!

While I haven't sorted out the optimal date to give notice at SCAD, the cat is peeking its head out of the bag.

In just over a month, we're moving to Singapore.

On January 21st, I begin my new job as Training Program Director for Lucasfilm Animation's Jedi Masters Program. It's a big deal and as I've been saying for the past month or so, I'm comically well suited to the position. Plus…Singapore!

Yes, It means back into the heart of Star Wars for good or ill with no "vacations" to go work on Star Trek or Hulk or Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull or…anything. It's pretty much all Star Wars all the time at Lucasfilm Animation Singapore. But…Singapore!

Plus, I'm not working on the stuff, I'm shaping and moulding (note I'm already using British English) the artists who will be making the stuff. I'll be building the program, curriculum and assessment tools as well as setting requirements for incoming students and grooming and onboarding faculty from the ranks of ILM, Lucasfilm Animation and LucasArts. Plus I get to work with both old friends and new. There are some amazing folks at the new studio and everyone wants it to be a success.

Also, it's a two year contract. The position (Jedi Headmaster, I've just decided to call it) is funded until March of 2010 (The Year We Make Contact), after that, who knows what will happen. There are certainly opportunities for me in the larger Lucas company, and we'll still own a house in Savannah, so teaching at SCAD is also a possibility.

How amazingly lucky am I to have a wife who will not only say "Yes" to uprooting and moving to Savannah, but who will say an even more enthusiastic "Yes" to a move to Singapore? That's a rhetorical question folks, but I appreciate the chorus of "Very lucky, dude!" from the back of the room. By the way, her willingness to say "Yes" to relocation is just one of a huge list of reason's I'm lucky to have found Rebecca.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Leckmans on the Move…Again!

  1. Beca says:

    Aww. My very own Mace Windu! I don't know how you get these crazy Lucas Gigs: first you're the Rebel Mac leader, and now the Jedi HeadMaster.(I am so, so excited. And that's the understatement of the decade!)A book deal last month, landing the Singapore gig this month, move next month – what next? 🙂

  2. Tad Leckman says:

    What's next? Why obviously Bartender at the Cantina!

  3. Yetra says:

    I only have three words. Holy. Fucking. Shit.

  4. Beca says:

    I think you're obligated to share with us now about your intimate history with the Four Floors of Whores.

  5. Enola says:

    holy SHIT! How exciting! We are TOTALLY coming to visit!

  6. lori says:

    YAY. A thousand times YAY. I'm so visiting! I want to see the Four Floors of Whores.

  7. Yetra says:

    I hate to say this, but I would highly recommend not going to Four Floors of Whores as a hot, sexy asian woman. Although actually, I see high potential for the ensuing of hilarity! Bizarre, disturbing hilarity that makes you want to take a long shower. Now I totally want you to go there, especially if you bring a secret purse camera to record everything.We could post it to Jezebel.

  8. cerambycidae says:

    (just catching up on Vox) OH WOW YOU GUYS! That's a whole lotta exciting stuff right there!Also: Dan's aunt and uncle live there and they are such awesome people, and they would gladly answer your questions about living in Singapore, if you have any. So let me know if you want their contact info.

  9. thrustoleum says:

    That's awesome Tad– congratulations!Andy Blackwood and his dog say HI by the way…

  10. Beca says:

    Say hi back! I'm so glad that worked out – Andy is nuts, but a good nuts I thought you guys would enjoy. I miss that dog, too. Need pics (of the work, and the dog!)

  11. uberfilmsnob says:

    ohmahGAWD! serves me right for being out of the know by not reading vox regularly. CONGRATS! you are SO the BIG TAD ON CAMPUS! you rock and deserve all this wonderfulness! so so excited for you three to live in singapore, fanfuckingtastic!!

Leave a Reply

