Uncategorized

Attendance Optional

When you were in college, if the chair of your department sent you e-mail telling you to schedule an appointment with him, would you at least answer the mail. Not the student I'm meeting with tomorrow.
He failed a class this summer because he missed five of the twenty lectures. When I did a bit of research I found that he'd failed quite a few classes for this reason and had poor grades overall. I thought I needed to have the "come to Jesus" talk with him so I sent him e-mail. No reply.
In the first two three weeks of Fall quarter, he's already missed four lectures in two classes. So, I sent another e-mail telling him to meet with me. No reply.
Dude! I had to serve him papers! I printed out my e-mail to him on letterhead and gave it to his Fall instructors to hand to him in class!
He made an appointment and we meet tomorrow…if he shows up.

Read and post comments

3 comments on “Attendance Optional

  1. So four misses is a fail or five misses gets you an F?(Jeez. I can think of several classes at UCSC I didn't even show up to five times, and passed!)

  2. are you going to get all ferris bueller 'le jeux sont fait' on his ass? i think you should.

  3. Here's the update…he missed the appointment!I'm channeling Ed Rooney as we speak.

Leave a Reply

