Me and Mr. Joe’s

So, I'm in LA for the Visual Effects Society's annual Festival of Visual Effects. Last night I was driving back to my hotel and contemplating where to grab dinner on the way home (there are some restaurants in LA). I missed a turn and was on Culver Blvd. a bit longer than planned and saw…Trader Joe's!

I did a u-turn and went shopping for dinner. It was 100% nostalgia fest: Thin Pizzas from the refrigerated section with Taziki. This was an old lunch standby for me at ILM. I love Savannah, but TJ's is something I really miss from California. I have been going there since 1987. I remember the old "laneless" store layouts. I remember when they actually rang the bells at checkout.

I didn't feel homesick for the West Coast until I stepped into TJ's…but I did kinda feel like I was cheating on Publix.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Me and Mr. Joe’s

  1. Beca says:

    I ratted you out to Publix today. It's sullking.

  2. Beca says:

    You also realize the new house is about 2 minutes from both Publix AND Fresh Market (which is the closest thing that maps to TJs/Whole Foods that we have here)? I'm excited!

  3. shock says:

    Almost as excited as me. 😉
    What should we import when we come visit? 8)

Leave a Reply

